Paradise India Home
   About Lakshadweep    |    Tourist Info    |    How to reach    |    Tourist attractions
Lakshadweep banner

About Lakshadweep Islands

Lakshadweep Islands

Lakshadweep, a union territory of India means a conglomeration of hundred thousand islands in Malayalam. But according to geographical division there are 36 islands that make up Lakshadweep Islands – a traveler's paradise in India. Kavaratti is the capital city of Lakshadweep. The islands cover about 32 sq. Km of area that comprise 5 submerged banks, 3 reefs and 12 atolls.

Only 10 (Agatti, Amini, Andrott, Chetlat, Bitra, Kadmat, Kalpeni, Kavaratti, Kiltan and Minicoy) out of 36 islands of Lakshadweep are inhabited by men. According to local legends of the islands, it is believed that human settlements first started in the islands of Kavaratti, Kalpeni, Andrott and Amini. Then people from these islands gradually moved to the other islands of Lakshadweep. The local residents of Lakshadweep Islands mainly speak Malayalam and Mahl.

A Brief History of Lakshadweep Islands

Lakshadweep Islands

The Lakshadweep Islands were ruled by Ali Rajahs. The Kolathiris gifted these group of islands to him. Later the islands were dominated by the Portuguese and they took over the coir industry. But due to their brutal rule, the local people soon expelled the foreigners. The Lakshadweep Islands gets mention in the Arabian travelogues of Ibn Batuta. According to local people, Islam in these islands were propagated by Hazrath Ubidulla who was believed to be the grand son of Abu Bakr - the first Kaleefa.

In 1787 the Amindivi group of islands were taken over by Tipu Sultan, the ruler of Mysore. After the Third Anglo – Mysore War, these islands became a part of South Canara under the British power. The other islands of the archipelago went to the Arakkal Family. But later on the administration of these islands were also handed to the British. Then they became a part of the Madras Presidency. The islands of Lakshadweep were recognized as a Union Territory of India with the passing of Reorganisation Act of 1956.

Quick info
Hindi, English, Malayalam
Indian Time
2020-08-06 4:14 AM
° C
° C
iPhone Application
Jigsaw Paradise

Get Jigsaw game on your iPhone/iPod touch NOW

read more